Please note that this event has happened and appears here for archive purposes only
Benjamin Grosvenor Mozart.


  • Wagner The Flying Dutchman: Overture11′
  • Mozart Piano Concerto No. 21, K. 46729′
  • Sibelius Symphony No. 138′

Winter gales and epic drama: Wagner’s Flying Dutchman overture begins with the crash of waves, and Sibelius’ First Symphony ends amidst the windswept forests of Finland. Hold tight for a thrilling journey, as Vassily Sinaisky makes a welcome return – and joins Britain’s most admired young pianist, Benjamin Grosvenor, in the timeless tranquillity of Mozart’s 21st Piano Concerto (the one they used to call Elvira Madigan).

CBSO+ 1pm, Level 5 foyer: Writer, lecturer and broadcaster David Nice discusses Sibelius’ Symphony No. 1.
NB: For logistical reasons this is a change from the originally advertised pre-concert talk and venue. We are delighted that David Nice has been able to step in.


For events sold by THSH Box Office, the THSH per-ticket commission of £3 (£2.50 for online bookings) is included in the price of every individual ticket priced over £13. Tickets purchased as part of a CBSO Concert Package are exempt. For full details see

You might also like ...