Please note that this event has happened and appears here for archive purposes only
Bruch’S Violin Concerto.


  • Tchaikovsky Capriccio Italien16′
  • Bruch Violin Concerto No. 125′
  • Rachmaninov Symphony No. 143′

“Vengeance is mine; I will repay, sayeth the Lord.” Taking his cue from those thunderous words, the young Sergei Rachmaninov launched into the mother of all First Symphonies: huge, dark, and blazing with unrequited emotion. It’s a real gothic melodrama – so we’re beginning with something very different: Tchaikovsky’s musical postcard from Italy and the world’s favourite violin concerto, played by superstar soloist Ray Chen.

CBSO+ 6.15pm: A piano recital performed by the rising stars of Royal Birmingham Conservatoire.


For events sold by THSH Box Office, the THSH per-ticket commission of £3 (£2.50 for online bookings) is included in the price of every individual ticket priced over £13. Tickets purchased as part of a CBSO Concert Package are exempt. For full details see

You might also like ...