A socially-distanced performance, later shared online.

Bringing you the CBSO Miniature Collection with three new and pre-released digital concerts with our fabulous musicians. Enjoy these concerts as many times as you like until 30 June, from the comfort of your own home.  We'd recommend a serving of afternoon tea as you settle down with these!

Please note that we are currently only able to sell digital concerts to residents within the UK.  

CBSO Miniature Collection concerts:

Beethoven Septet 

Oliver Janes – Clarinet 
Margaret Cookhorn – Bassoon 
Mark Phillips – Horn 
Kate Suthers – Violin 
Chris Yates – Viola 
David Powell – Cello 
Julian Atkinson – Double Bass  

Beethoven Septet in E flat, Op. 20 

When the CBSO’s musicians finally reunited this summer, after the longest enforced silence in the orchestra’s 100 year history, this was the first music they made – an exuberant, gloriously tuneful salute to the young Beethoven in his 250th birthday year. Take Beethoven at his happiest, give him seven virtuoso musicians, throw in a couple of pop tunes, and the result is the Septet Op.20: a symphony in all but name, bursting with melody and wit. Extraordinary times called for extraordinary measures, and socially-distanced performance was a new departure for us. But you can’t keep our players down, and this performance from CBSO Centre is testimony both to the irrepressible genius of Beethoven, and the sheer joy of playing great music together. This concert was originally filmed at CBSO Centre in July 2020 and has previously been released.

Celebrating Piazzolla: 100 Years of Tango

El Ultimo Tango

Libertango  •  Histoire du Tango: Cafe 1930  • Nightclub 1960  •  D’aujourd’hui •  Preludio  • Estaciones Porteñas: Verano (Summer) •  Invierno (Winter)  •  Bachissimo (Variacionnes de Goldberg): Variation excerpts   •  Angel Suite: Muerte  •  Resurreccion

Tango was born in the backstreets of Buenos Aires, but Astor Piazzolla took it to the world – writing music that came from the soul and spoke straight to the heart. For the CBSO’s Argentinean-born principal cellist Eduardo Vassallo, it’s more than just a passion - it’s a family affair. His father played with Piazzolla, and for two decades Eduardo’s ensemble El Ultimo Tango has been bringing the style, the sophistication and the haunting melodies of this extraordinary music to audiences across the UK. Now, in the month that Piazzolla would have celebrated his 100th birthday, they salute the creator of Nuevo Tango, in a concert that explores Piazzolla’s sense of tradition, his love of Bach and - of course – some of the 20th century’s most unforgettable tunes. This concert was filmed at CBSO Centre in March 2021.

Fabien Gabel: Fauré and Ravel 

Fauré Suite from Pelléas et Mélisande 
Ravel Mother Goose Suite 

Mother Goose opens her book, and magical tales just tumble out. An enchanted garden, a mysterious spinning wheel; a tiny empress taking a bath in a walnut shell – in Ravel’s ravishing Mother Goose suite, every detail is transformed into music that sparkles in the ear. Meanwhile, by the shores of an ancient sea, two lovers slip out of a castle for a rendezvous with destiny: fairy stories aren’t just for children, and deep emotions stir beneath the pastel tints and graceful dances of Fauré’s Pelléas et Mélisande. Guest conductor Fabien Gabel makes a very welcome return with two musical stories of fantasy and longing, all painted in glowing colours by composers who knew exactly how to make the imagination take flight. So if you’re sitting comfortably…we’ll begin! This concert was filmed at Symphony Hall in December 2020.