Please note that this event has happened and appears here for archive purposes only
Mirga Conducts Shostakovich.


  • Shostakovich The Limpid Stream: Suite16′
  • Shostakovich Piano Concerto No. 121′
  • Shostakovich Symphony No. 546′

Shostakovich called his Fifth Symphony “a Soviet artist’s response to just criticism” – but then, in Stalin’s Russia, he didn’t have much choice, and the music tells a far darker story. Tonight, Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla explores every facet of a 20th-century icon – from the razor-sharp wit of the First Piano Concerto, played by Russian sensation Anna Vinnitskaya, to the deliciously tuneful The Limpid Stream, one of the works to which Stalin had taken exception.

CBSO+ 5.45pm: Join British composer and broadcaster Gerard McBurney discussing the works of Shostakovich.


For events sold by B:Music Box Office, the B:Music per-ticket commission of £3.50 is included in the price of every individual ticket priced over £15. For full details see

You might also like ...