Mirga Conducts The Firebird.


  • Weinberg Rhapsody on Moldavian Themes13′
  • Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto34′
  • Stravinsky The Firebird45′

When Igor Stravinsky composed The Firebird, he didn’t only imagine a world of enchanted princesses, courageous heroes and green-clawed demons: he let us hear it, too. Expect Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla to revel in Stravinsky’s magical colours, while the phenomenal Patricia Kopatchinskaja will positively dance through Tchaikovsky’s much-loved concerto. Together, they share another extraordinary Weinberg rediscovery – a fiery, folksy journey through the landscape of Moldova.

CBSO+ 2 May, 1pm: CBSO violinist Catherine Arlidge MBE discusses Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto with violin soloist Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Osborn Music Director Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla.


For events sold by THSH Box Office, the THSH per-ticket commission of £3 (£2.50 for online bookings) is included in the price of every individual ticket priced over £13. Tickets purchased as part of a CBSO Concert Package are exempt. For full details see cbso.co.uk/terms.

You might also like ...