Please note that this event has happened and appears here for archive purposes only
Modern Debussy.


  • Debussy Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune (chamber version)10′
  • Debussy Première rhapsodie *7′
  • Stravinsky Symphonies of Wind Instruments9′
  • Takemitsu  Green6′
  • Debussy Jeux17′

“A century of aeroplanes deserves its own music” said Claude Debussy. “As there are no precedents, I must create anew.” And that’s exactly what he did. Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla conducts music that spans a century: Stravinsky’s striking homage to Debussy, Takemitsu's Debussy inspired Green, and Debussy’s elusive, sensual Jeux. Because a revolution is no less radical for being quiet. 

There will be no interval.


For events sold by THSH Box Office, the THSH per-ticket commission of £3 (£2.50 for online bookings) is included in the price of every individual ticket priced over £13. Tickets purchased as part of a CBSO Concert Package are exempt. For full details see

You might also like ...