Please note that this event has happened and appears here for archive purposes only
Opera North Arya Sitar Concerto.


  • Jasdeep Singh Degun Arya
  • Verdi Prelude to La traviata
  • Mozart Priests' Chorus from The Magic Flute
  • Purcell Dido's Lament and chorus 'With drooping wings'
  • Puccini Humming Chorus from Madama Butterfly
  • Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela
  • Vaughan Williams Serenade to Music

CONCERT CANCELLED: Following the latest government guidance around COVID19, the CBSO has decided to suspend concerts, public events and learning and participatory activities until at least mid-April. Ticket holders for affected concerts will be contacted directly by the THSH box office. Please click here for further information

Conducted by Harish Shankar, the Orchestra and Chorus of Opera North join forces for this wide-ranging and powerful concert. At its heart is a newly commissioned concerto from composer and sitar virtuoso Jasdeep Singh Degun, in which the complex rhythms and gorgeous melodies of Indian classical raag strike up conversations with the orchestra, as the sitar by turns draws in, creates quickfire exchange with and finally comes harmoniously together with the orchestra.

The concerto is paired with the full force of the Chorus of Opera North, whose programme includes the delicately beautiful Humming Chorus from Puccini’s Madama Butterfly, Purcell’s exquisite Dido’s Lament, extracts from La traviata and The Magic Flute, and concludes with Vaughan Williams’ Serenade to Music.

Please note there will be a 20 minute interval after the first piece.


For events sold by THSH Box Office, the THSH per-ticket commission of £3 (£2.50 for online bookings) is included in the price of every individual ticket priced over £13. Tickets purchased as part of a CBSO Concert Package are exempt. For full details see