Prokofiev And Sibelius.


  • Sibelius The Oceanides10′
  • Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 328′
  • Waley-Cohen New Work10′ (CBSO Centenary Commission: World Premiere)
  • Sibelius Symphony No. 530′

Sibelius saw a flight of swans in the sunset and heard the tune that crowns his Fifth Symphony. The water spirits of The Oceanides dance on the Mediterranean sea, and Prokofiev is both daredevil and dreamer in a piano concerto that glitters with sunlight. Tonight, it’s all about the imagination, as Ilan Volkov joins forces with the sensational Isata Kanneh-Mason – and shares a completely new vision, from British composer Freya Waley-Cohen.

Photo: Isata Kanneh-Mason © Robin Clewley

This concert will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3

3 Rgb Blackbbc.

You might also like ...