Please note that this event has happened and appears here for archive purposes only
Reformation Symphony.


  • Prokofiev  Classical Symphony 15′
  • Ravel  Piano Concerto in G 23′
  • Mendelssohn Overture, The Hebrides 10′
  • Mendelssohn  Symphony No. 5 (Reformation) 30′

Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony goes off like a rocket – one of the most delightful musical jokes of all time, written by a young firebrand in an age of revolution. It’s the perfect way to launch a concert that ends with honorary Brummie Felix Mendelssohn’s gloriously tuneful Reformation symphony, and which stars another Birmingham regular, pianist Francesco Piemontesi, in the smouldering passions and rapid-fire wit of Ravel’s G major Piano Concerto.

CBSO+ 1pm: Join the Birmingham Conservatoire Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Michael Seal, for a pre-concert performance.


For events sold by THSH Box Office, the THSH per-ticket commission of £3 (£2.50 for online bookings) is included in the price of every individual ticket priced over £13. Tickets purchased as part of a CBSO Concert Package are exempt. For full details see

You might also like ...