Please note that this event has happened and appears here for archive purposes only
Rudolf Buchbinder Schumann.


  • Wagner Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan and Isolde17′
  • Schumann  Piano Concerto31′
  • Beethoven Symphony No. 536′

Four notes that changed musical history – and an opera that redefined the sound of love. Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony and Wagner’s extraordinary Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan and Isolde frame this concert; music of volcanic power and eternal longing. But in between, Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla joins forces with the wonderful Austrian pianist Rudolf Buchbinder, uniting her dynamism with his insight in one of the most romantic piano concertos ever written.


For events sold by THSH Box Office, the THSH per-ticket commission of £3 (£2.50 for online bookings) is included in the price of every individual ticket priced over £13. Tickets purchased as part of a CBSO Concert Package are exempt. For full details see

You might also like ...