Please note that this event has happened and appears here for archive purposes only
Shostakovichs Twelfth.


  • Beethoven Fidelio: Overture 6′
  • Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5 (Emperor)38′
  • Shostakovich Symphony No. 12 (The Year 1917)39′

Petrograd, 1917: crowds fill the streets, the guns of a warship thunder in the distance, and the air crackles with menace. Shostakovich’s Twelfth Symphony is all about history on a blockbuster scale – and a century after the Bolshevik Revolution, former Bolshoi music director Vassily Sinaisky will bring it vividly to life. But not before pianist Simon Trpčeski unleashes all his charisma and power on Beethoven’s majestic Emperor concerto.


For events sold by THSH Box Office, the THSH per-ticket commission of £3 (£2.50 for online bookings) is included in the price of every individual ticket priced over £13. Tickets purchased as part of a CBSO Concert Package are exempt. For full details see

You might also like ...