Please note that this event has happened and appears here for archive purposes only
2Pavel Kolesnikov Copyright Eva Vermandel.


  • Kodály Dances of Galánta15′
  • Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 133′
  • Mendelssohn Symphony No. 3 (Scottish)39′

We are sorry to announce that pianist Gabriela Montero has had to withdraw from this performance due to injury. We are grateful to Pavel Kolesnikov for stepping in at extremely short notice. The programme remains the same as advertised and we very much hope that you enjoy the performance.

A February afternoon in Birmingham – and who couldn’t do with a good holiday? Let us take the strain, as conductor Joana Mallwitz whirls you away on a colourful cross-European roadtrip, from the flying fiddles of Kodály’s Hungary to the Highland mists of Mendelssohn’s Scottish symphony. Plus a stop-over in Imperial Russia for Tchaikovsky’s magnificent and much-loved First Piano Concerto.

Photo credit: Eva Vermandel

CBSO+ 1pm: Conductor Joana Mallwitz in conversation with CBSO violinist Catherine Arlidge MBE.


For events sold by THSH Box Office, the THSH per-ticket commission of £3 (£2.50 for online bookings) is included in the price of every individual ticket priced over £13. Tickets purchased as part of a CBSO Concert Package are exempt. For full details see

You might also like ...