Please note that this event has happened and appears here for archive purposes only
15 Jun 22 Pat Kop.


  • Anna Thorvaldsdottir Catamorphosis20′
  • Britten Symphonic Suite "Gloriana" 25′
  • Shostakovich Violin Concerto No.1 38′
  • Britten Four Sea Interludes16′

The CBSO return to Aldeburgh Festival with a gripping programme of Britten and Anna Thorvaldsdottir, joined by soloist Patricia Kopatchinskaja in Shostakovich's Violin Concerto.

Earth is heading towards a metamorphosis which could be catastrophic for its inhabitants. Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir has created an award-winning work which she describes with great understatement as “quite a dramatic piece, but full of hope”. After hearing its premiere, the Dagens Nyheter wrote that her intricately detailed, filmic sound world “creates the physical sensation of being crushed under a giant glacier”. And yet there is so much beauty to the piece as well as she suggests that what we have now is worth going out of our way to save.

The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra's programme also includes Britten’s Four Sea Interludes and the orchestral suite from his opera Gloriana, written for the coronation of HM Queen Elizabeth II in 1953. The wonderful violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja, a 2018 Aldeburgh Festival Artist in Residence, joins to play Shostakovich’s concerto.

Tickets are available via Britten Pears Arts: