Please note that this event has happened and appears here for archive purposes only
2 Mar 22 Mirga Pat Kop.


  • Tchaikovsky  Fantasy Overture: Romeo and Juliet
  • Stravinsky  Violin Concerto
  • Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4

Free-spirited violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja won hearts and minds on her first visit to Nottingham a couple of seasons ago. With the rare ability to make even the most familiar music sound fresh, she has a natural musical partner in the CBSO’s inspirational Music Director, Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla. Here they join forces for Stravinsky’s sparkling Violin Concerto which is light on its feet, deftly partnering soloist and orchestra in some mercurial shifts of tone and texture. A double bill of Tchaikovsky classics completes the programme. His Fantasy Overture to Romeo and Juliet has a command of musical narrative that has never been surpassed. Tchaikovsky’s own love life was a turbulent sub-text to his Fourth Symphony, whose emotional ebb and flow mirrored his belief that a malign force was at work in his life. An arresting opening blast of French horns announces fate as the controlling force throughout the symphony, powering its anguished melodies and violent interruptions, and only dispelled with a frenetic, dancing finale.

Tickets are available via Royal Concert Hall Nottingham: