Please note that this event has happened and appears here for archive purposes only
Mihhail Gerts.


  • Kodály Dances of Galánta15′
  • Rachmaninov Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini24′
  • Debussy Nocturnes: Sirènes11′
  • Stravinsky The Firebird Suite (1919)22′

Regrettably, Lionel Bringuier has had to withdraw from this performance due to illness. We are grateful to Mihhail Gerts who will now conduct this concert and make his CBSO debut. The soloist and repertoire remain the same.

Like Brahms and Liszt before him, Rachmaninoff was inspired by a simple 19th-century tune for the violin and ended up writing one of the Romantic period's greatest pieces. Here, pianist Sunwook Kim guides us with ease through the 24 beautiful variations, while conductor Mihhail Gerts surrounds it with colour - from the fields of Hungary to the glittering fantasy-world of Stravinsky's The Firebird. 


17 February, 6:45pm: Members’ Reception. Booking required.


Tickets can be booked online using the 'Book Now' button above, or by calling the B:Music Box Office on 0121 780 3333.

The Box Office phone lines are open Monday-Saturday, 10am-2pm.



For events sold by B:Music Box Office, the B:Music per-ticket commission of £3.50 is included in the price of every individual ticket priced over £15. For full details see

You might also like ...