200227 Waltons Viola Concerto.


  • Foulds April - England8′
  • Walton Viola Concerto27′
  • Vaughan Williams A London Symphony48′

What is English music? The freshness of a spring morning, or the chaotic bustle of Edwardian London? Michael Seal travels from the cherry blossom of John Foulds’ April - England to the glittering streets of Vaughan Williams’ A London Symphony – complete with buskers, fog and the chimes of Big Ben. And Lise Berthaud finds the dark heart of Walton’s smouldering Viola Concerto.


For events sold by THSH Box Office, the THSH per-ticket commission of £3 (£2.50 for online bookings) is included in the price of every individual ticket priced over £13. Tickets purchased as part of a CBSO Concert Package are exempt. For full details see cbso.co.uk/terms.

You might also like ...