Please note that this event has happened and appears here for archive purposes only
Kazuki Manfred New Thsh.


  • Schumann Manfred: Overture12′
  • Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 328′
  • Tchaikovsky Manfred Symphony56′

Tormented by forbidden desires, Byron's Manfred roams the mountains alone. Byron didn't do understatement - but Tchaikovsky sensed a kindred spirit. His huge Manfred Symphony, specially selected for this concert by the CBSO’s brilliant Principal Guest Conductor Kazuki Yamada, contains some of the rawest, most personal and most passionate music he ever wrote.

Prokofiev's sparkling Third Piano Concerto is like bottled sunshine alongside it - and the award-winning Alexander Gavrylyuk knows exactly how to make it sparkle.

CBSO+ 6.15pm: Music writer and broadcaster Gavin Plumley discusses Tchaikovsky’s Manfred Symphony.


For events sold by THSH Box Office, the THSH per-ticket commission of £3 (£2.50 for online bookings) is included in the price of every individual ticket priced over £13. Tickets purchased as part of a CBSO Concert Package are exempt. For full details see

You might also like ...