From the tranquil to the fantastical, each dream is as vivid as the next.

The frosty magic of the Russian winter inspired Tchaikovsky’s First Symphony: music so tuneful, and so fresh, that you can almost see your breath in the air! Anna Thorvaldsdottir dreams of the vast stillness of Icelandic nature. And the great Ian Bostridge – possibly Britain’s finest living tenor – leads a wild parade through Britten’s shimmering, magical musical dreamscape. This promises to be a truly gripping evening…

About Britten & Tchaikovsky

Listen In

Take a sneak peek at the music in this concert.

Symphony No.1 (Allegro Tranquillo) Tchaikovsky

Full programme

  • Thorvaldsdottir, Dreaming  (17mins)
  • Britten, Les Illuminations  (21mins)
  • Tchaikovsky, Symphony No.1 (Winter Daydreams)  (45mins)


  • Headshot of Gergely Madaras

    Gergely Madaras

  • Headshot of Ian Bostridge

    Ian Bostridge