CBSO Cuppa Concerts are specially created with those living with dementia, and their carers, in mind.

These short, relaxed concerts feature a range of familiar music to be enjoyed in a friendly and supportive atmosphere. Each concert features a small ensemble of musicians from the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.

The theme for this concert is Moving and Grooving and will feature string instruments and clarinet. Audience members will have the chance to get involved in the music-making with handheld instruments and to share any stories that the music evokes in them with others.

We are happy for audience members to chat, come and go as they please, and we feature sing- and play-along sections. We also keep the hall well-lit during the concert, rather than dimming the auditorium lights. After the concert, please join us (and the musicians) for free tea and cake!

About Cuppa Concert

Full programme

  • R. Schumann, Traumerei 
  • Moises Simons arr. Oliver Janes, Peanut Vendor 
  • Offenbach, Barcarolle 
  • Acker Bilk arr. Oliver Janes, Stranger on the Shore 
  • Frederick Loewe arr. Emily Winterburg, I Could Have Danced All Night from My Fair Lady 
  • Mozart arr. Nathan Isaac, Clarinet Concerto (slow movement) 
  • Yradier arr. Stephen M. Taylor, La Paloma 
  • ABBA arr. Stuart McSweeney, Dancing Queen 
  • Zez Confrey arr. Nathan Isaac, Dizzy Fingers 
  • Brahms arr. Bill Schuetter, Lullaby 
  • ABBA arr. Stuart McSweeney, Thank You For The Music 
  • Offenbach, Can Can