Gripping and explosive music from our new Chief Conductor and the brilliant Sheku!

You must have heard of Sheku Kanneh-Mason, the brilliant young British cellist who’s transforming the way we listen to classical music. Here at the CBSO, we’re always excited to welcome him back, and tonight he stars in Shostakovich’s gripping First Cello Concerto – the dark heart of a concert that begins with Beethoven and ends with Walton’s explosive First Symphony.

About Kazuki & Sheku Kanneh-Mason

Full programme

  • Beethoven, Leonore Overture No.1  (9mins)
  • Shostakovich, Cello Concerto No.1  (28mins)
  • Walton, Symphony No.1  (43mins)