CBSO Chorus

The CBSO Chorus is one of the world’s great choirs – 180 people from all walks of life who come together to sing symphonic choral music. Trained for over 30 years by Simon Halsey CBE, it’s a hard-working team of “amateur professionals” who give up their own time to perform the most challenging works in the choral repertoire to the highest international standard.

Founded in 1973, its main role is to perform with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra - everything from Bach to Henze, as well as operas, Mahler symphonies and the CBSO’s famous annual carol concerts. But it’s also toured to Europe, Asia, Australia and North America, and sung with some of the greatest orchestras in the world, including the Vienna Philharmonic and Berlin Philharmonic. With over 50 recordings to its credit, it’s won four Gramophone awards.

All this has been achieved by amateur singers from Birmingham and the Midlands, aged from 18 years old, whose day-jobs range from students to nurses, teachers and pilots.

We are currently particularly interested to receive applications from altos, tenors and basses. Listed on this page are some forthcoming audition dates, however, we do often have additional audition dates throughout the year. If you would like to audition please complete our online application form.

Audition Dates at CBSO Centre

Friday 25 January 2019
6pm – 9pm

Friday 15 March 2019
6pm – 9pm

Friday 21 May 2019
6pm – 9pm

Friday 5 July 2019
6pm – 9pm

Saturday 6 July 2019
10am – 9pm

Sunday 7 July 2019
10am – 9pm

Calling Tenors! The CBSO is offering scholarships worth £1000 each to tenors aged 18-30 years. Learn more

Open Rehearsals at CBSO Centre

Wednesday 28 November 2018
Wednesday 30 January 2019
Wednesday 10 April 2019 (Tenors/Basses only)
Wednesday 1 May 2019
Wednesday 17 July 2018

Open rehearsals take place from 6.45-9.15pm. If you are interested in attending an open rehearsal, please email chorus@cbso.co.uk.