Dark, dreamy and deeply poetic. Imagine the melody of your dreams.

That’s how Anton Bruckner came up with the opening of his Seventh Symphony – and when you hear it, you’ll understand why: this is music that scales sublime heights and heartrending depths. For guest conductor Markus Stenz, it’s a spiritual journey; so he begins by teaming up with the incomparable James Ehnes in Schumann’s dark, but deeply poetic Violin Concerto.

About Bruckner 7

Join us for a FREE pre-concert conversation with soloist James Ehnes and CBSO musician Catherine Arlidge. The event will take place in the Jennifer Blackwell Performance Space from 6:30pm.

Conductor Markus Stenz introduces Brucker 7

Listen In

Take a sneak peek at the music in this concert.

Symphony No.7 (Allegro Moderato) Bruckner

Full programme

  • Schumann, Violin Concerto  (30mins)
  • Bruckner, Symphony No.7  (68mins)


  • Headshot of Markus Stenz wearing white tie.

    Markus Stenz

  • Photograph of James Ehnes holding his violin.

    James Ehnes