A blazing symphony, and a stunning swansong for the cello.

The Cello Concerto is one of Elgar’s last works – and one of his best. It is a gorgeously rich blend of melody and melancholy, with one of the most powerful opening bars ever written for the cello. What an absolute treat to hear Sheku Kanneh-Mason in the solo role. Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony tackles fate head-on right up to its triumphant finale.

About Kazuki conducts Elgar & Tchaikovsky

Full programme

  • Elgar, Cello Concerto  (30mins)
  • Tchaikovsky, Symphony No.5  (47mins)