A longing for home meets the wonder of a New World.

Some pieces are classics for a reason, and the nostalgic melodies and sweeping emotions of Dvořák’s symphony “from the New World” tell their own story. But first, a celebration of our superb Chorus as they shout for joy in Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms, and share a new masterpiece by one of the New World’s most innovative living composers, Caroline Shaw.

About New World Symphony

As a starter to your evening, join us for a FREE pre-concert chat with Conductor Joshua Weilerstein and Violinist Catherine Arlidge! The event will take place in the Jennifer Blackwell Performance Space from 6:30pm - 6:55pm.

Where Have I Heard it Before?

The New World Symphony will be floating somewhere in the back of your brain. You might have heard it in films such as Scorsese's The Departed or Fantastic Four.

New World Symphony Dvořák

Full programme

  • Haas, Study for Strings  (7mins)
  • Bernstein, Chichester Psalms  (20mins)
  • Shaw, Music in Common Time  (12mins)
  • Dvořák, Symphony No.9 (New World)  (42mins)