A stirring concerto, a tragic tale – and an outrageous knees-up!

Former Principal Guest Conductor, Sir Mark Elder, makes a welcome return after more than 20 years with a wonderful programme. Brahms is on majestic form in his first Piano Concerto brought to dramatic life by Sir Stephen Hough. Janáček packs a punch with his tale of the fiddler, his sick child – and authoritarian oppression. Shostakovich knew a thing or two about that. His Symphony No.6 builds from slow start to wild conclusion – one of his most diabolical finales.

About Sir Mark Elder conducts Brahms & Shostakovich

Full programme

  • Brahms, Piano Concerto No.1  (47mins)
  • Janáček, The Fiddler's Child  (10mins)
  • Shostakovich, Symphony No.6  (30mins)


  • Sir Mark Elder

  • Sir Stephen Hough